Tipping irritations

Change

Why do we need to tip?  It’s always been an irritation and was put into words in the movie Reservoir Dogs where Steve Buscemi’s character says that he does not tip.

He says he doesn’t believe in it and “if she don’t make enough money she can quit. … I don’t tip because society says I have to. All right, I mean I’ll tip if someone really deserves a tipping, if they really put forth the effort, I’ll give them something extra, but I mean this tipping automatically, it’s for the birds. I mean as far as I’m concerned they’re just doing their job. … She was okay. She wasn’t anything special. … Look I ordered coffee all right? Now we’ve been here a long … time, she’s only filled my cup three times. When I order coffee I want it filled six times …  They make minimum wage. I used to work minimum wage and when I did I wasn’t lucky enough to have a job that society deemed tip worthy. … You know what this is? It’s the world’s smallest violin playing just for the waitresses. … So is working at McDonald’s but you don’t feel the need to tip them do you? Well why not? They’re serving you food. But no, society says don’t tip these guys over here, but tip these guys over here….” etc

That’s part of my point.  If restaurants paid their staff properly and didn’t expect the customers (who are already paying for the food) to make up the shortfall, we wouldn’t need to tip.  Why must we pay the staff salary?

And that makes it difficult for the waitors and waitresses too, who don’t have a steady income and rely on unreliable tips.  But then, when they see university students or other kids coming in, do they give poor service because they know it’s unlikely that they’ll get a decent tip?

Can we save that money and give it to the poor or other people who don’t have jobs and aren’t supposed to be getting a salary?

Some restaurants are presumptuous enough to add the tip on to the bill – sometimes you may not even notice it and may give a tip on top of that.  Seems like shady hidden costs.

This irks me.  Am I making a mountain out of a molehill? I do always tip, but in my heart I always do it grudgingly.

Do you guys tip, and do you do it willingly?

3 thoughts on “Tipping irritations

  1. If the service is ‘average’ or ‘as expected’ I won’t tip. If the service is below average the manager will receive a complaint. Only if the service is good will the waiter receive a tip.
    Side note – petrol attendants don’t get tips – the service they provide lasts less than 10minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We all seem to be trying to choose who best to give our extra bits and pieces to. At least when we choose to give money to the petrol attendant or beggar, we are choosing consciously, and not being forced to tip due to convention.

      Like

Leave a Reply

